New: Songs With Friends EP

Rare Demos, B-Sides, & Collaborations with Sam Yurick, Maestro Gamin, LinaCarol, Xerebrl, Passive65ive, Kid Infinity, Luna Is Honey, Sequence, Nathan Nice, Justin Time, Foci, Dumbfoundead aka Parker

released 01 April 2014
Produced by myself

Produced by Michael Nhat 2005 – 2014



Songs With Friends EP Album Cover


1. Outside Your Definition Of A Prize (featuring Sam Yurick and Maestro Gamin)
In 2009 or 2010, I met Sam at one of my shows. He bought commented on my record and bought it. I seen coming to another show of mine at The Echo, but I had just finished and was leaving. That’s all I knew of Sam Yurick. Years later, I think another member of Sams group, Charles Mallison, asked me to collaborate. He frequented LA scene as much as I did, so I saw him more often than Sam. Plus, he’s half Asian, so I assume one of the two or both made him more comfortable to approach me. Anyways, that’s how I met Sam and came to collab with him. I met Maestro through Dylan Doren. I imagine Dylan played him something of mine and he must have liked it. Then I was leaving one morning and right when I stepped out the door, Maestro was sitting in the car on street in front of me waiting for the light to change. He yells out my name and says he wants me in his group. I yelled back to email me. A month or so later He came to one of my shows at The Smell and bought my LP and booked me at one of his shows. In 2012, I tried to start supergroup with rappers I knew called The Best People In The World. It never gelled. We made maybe four songs. Maestro and Sam were invited to a part of the group. They were the first to record their verses. Some of the other members never recorded at all, so this song is me going back to that project and finishing one more song.

2. I Was Born With Two Heads (featuring LinaCarol)
This song was originally recorded to a sampled beat I made in 2005. It was for an unreleased November Album. The rules of that album were everything had to a beat I made from 2005 and only recorded on cassette tape. After hearing it again I decided we should re-record it because I liked the lyrics.

3. Liquid Strange (featuring Xerebrl)
Bill is a friend I made on Myspace in 2005. He came to party in Pasadena I was playing at that year. Then we shot some fetish videos with his girlfriend at the time. A memorable one was shooting them making out inside a packed church in the middle of the aisle. We got kicked out. A year later, before I could afford a computer or anything to do with the footage someone stole the camera from my studio while I was at work. I think it was my apartment manager or maintenance. They said they were going to repair something in the day. So the footage is forever lost. Then we were hanging out downtown one evening. I bought a bmx bike from a homeless guy for five bucks and I let Bill borrow the bike. Someone stole it from his garage. We didn’t talk or hang out for a long after that. I was never bitter about the bike. Maybe he thought I was. He randomly emailed in 2013 about his music project Xerebrl and asked if I wanted to collab.

4. Basements (featuring Passive65ive)
We’ve never met. We’re both down with Paramanu. This was an internet collab.

5. Sticky Gate (featuring Sam Yurick)
The first sounds you here fading in are how the beat was originally with the same drums when Sam begins. After we recorded our verses, I played around with the beat.

6. Nails And Grease (featuring LinaCarol)
We were homeless when we made this. I used to live in Kensington for a brief time and I befriended Greg from the venue The Ox. He came to LA to visit and his friend he was staying at let us stay there too. After jamming with Greg with his drum machine and whatnot I made this beat with his equipment. He was supposed to write to it also, but he couldn’t think of anything. So only two of did.

7. Summertime (featuring Kid Infinity and Luna Is Honey)
I met Josh from Luna Is Honey in 2008 at a show I was playing for a private “Smell show”. After I performed, he asked me to play at Mr. T’s in Highland Park. This show was a lot of my friends introduction to me. It was my first show with anything affiliated with The Smell. I got booked at like five places that night. And every weekend after that it felt like the snowball affect was happening. Everytime I played a show in the “LA scene” i got booked for another or more. Anyways, that’s how I met Josh. He sings the hook. I don’t remember how where or when I met Ryan from Kid Infinity. I think we were booked together, maybe that Highland Park show, and we became good friends since. For two rappers, who hang out often, you figure we’d have something newer than this. But this was lost for years, I finally found it on a drive. I wanted to release it on Collected Songs 3.

8. Army Of The Dead (featuring Sequence, Nathan NiceJustin Time aka Old YoungFociDumbfoundead)
In 2005, I tried to start a supergroup called Dead Calm. Everyone came to my place and recorded the verses into a shitty 30 dollar mic. We recorded 8 Songs via Tascam Porta 01 four-track. Then I put them on CD. Then Jonathan aka Dumbfoundead joined the group, but I couldn’t get the two tracks he recorded on CD. They stayed on four-track cassette tape unheard and forgotten for 7 years. In 2012, Andrew Felix lent his Tascam to me (Which I killed the mabuchi with recording so much). I realized I need to get all this old stuff on tape onto the computer. So I did. Army Of The Dead was one of the songs resurrected.

Published by Ten-Headed Skeleton

"Above most lyrical works around him" - LA Record

%d bloggers like this: